Sushi Bazooka- Life Changing.

I love cooking so much ! It is actually one of my favorite ways to relieve stress. I also love sushi and have always wanted to try making my own. After a lot of research and the recent debut of the Sushi Bazooka I had to get my hands on this to try it.

 

Below will be a review of the Sushi Bazooka and the recipe to my favorite sushi roll. The Philadelphia roll.

 

Sushi Rice: Yields 2 rolls 

1 cup of white rice- Does not have to be sushi grade- I used Uncle Ben’s White Rice 

1 cup of water 

3 Tbsp- Plain rice vinegar- Purchased at Weis Markets

1 Tbsp- Sugar

1 tsp-Salt

 

Directions:

 

  • Place 1 Cup on white rice and 1 cup of water in Rice Cooker (You can use a stove top obviously I got a rice cooker for Christmas which cooks the rice more evenly. The Rice cooker took about 25 minutes to cook the rice.
  • In separate Saucepan bring rice vinegar and sugar to heat. (not boiling) make sure it is hot enough to dissolve the sugar.
  • Add mixture to rice with salt and stir. This makes your rice stick to everything!! And rounds out the flavor.

 

Now that your rice is prepared we can review the Sushi Bazooka! For the Philadelphia Roll- You use: Smoked Salmon (Raw), Avocado, and Cream Cheese. Since I like to play to my strengths when it comes to cooking I DID NOT USE RAW FISH. A great subsititue is ready to eat- smoked salmon. It gives you the texture of raw fish without the danger and the smokiness rounds out the flavor profile with the rice vinegar.  Here is the smoked salmon I used and the toasted seaweed (Nori). Smoked salmon can be purchased at most grocery stores and the seaweed was purchased at Weis Markets.

Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 2.02.40 PM.pngScreen Shot 2017-01-07 at 2.00.48 PM.png

 

Place your sushi rice, smoked salmon (ready to eat), Cream Cheese and Avocado in the sushi bazooka: Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 2.00.31 PM.png

 

Then you will close the Bazooka and use the clips in the lower section of the picture to fasten the bazooka shut. Before turning the bazooka place your Seaweed (Nori) sheet on a cutting board. Then start turning the Bazooka!! Once you have gotten past the initial turning you can push the rest of the roll out (See Below).Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 2.03.05 PM.png

Then start rolling your rice with the seaweed! You can use a bamboo matt to help you roll but in my experience the Sushi Bazooka makes the rice tight enough to just go ahead and roll into the seaweed. Once the rice and seaweed are rolled use a serrated knife to cut sushi pieces. Screen Shot 2017-01-07 at 2.03.35 PM.png

And ENJOY!! The Sushi Bazooka is an amazing product and is absolutely life changing. It is so easy to use and actually works!! I will rarely ever go out to buy my own sushi again. Stay tuned for a California roll recipe I am working on 🙂

Leave a Reply

