We were on a Break!- Give your GI Tract a Break with this Breakfast Smoothie

When you have Crohn’s disease your body is working twice as hard to take in nutrients. Reaching optimal nutrition is important for everyone but especially those with an autoimmune disease. I have this breakfast smoothie pretty often because my GI tract thinks a lot of the good I put in my body is bad so I like to switch it up with this.

Here is one of many smoothies that I have in the morning. Classic Strawberry Banana Smoothie. It is SO EASY and keeps me full from 7:00am- 12:00pm. TRY!!

You will need:

1 Banana

5 Strawberries 

1 1/2 Cup of water- coconut water 

Ice to your liking 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-01-10 at 10.09.22 AM.png

Directions: I use a nutriBullet to assemble all the ingredients and I use the fill line (see picture above) for my liquid and ice. Then I blend to my liking.

This recipe is Vegan, Gluten Free and Whole30 approved. I also use Coconut water- with pineapple to add an additional flavor to the smoothie.

**Mix it up- You can use almond milk instead of coconut water (Ive used unsweetened vanilla) and you can add Vegan Protein powder! I have used Vega Vanilla I hear JuicePlus has one but I have not tried it yet. Also for those who use JuicePlus you can empty your garden blend capsules to add your daily greens.  

Leave a Reply

